Crampton returns to Oz for Summer Thunder

Sydney Dragway was the host for the Santo’s Summer Thunder event during the Australia Day weekend.

Wayne Newby (near lane) was the winner in Top Fuel with a 3.82 to 3.90 win over Phil Lamattina.


Richie Crampton, who was formerly with the Kalitta Racing team in the U.S. met Newby in the semifinal with Newby taking a 3.88 to 3.90 win.


In Pro Slammer the green light saw John Zappia take a one-thousandth of a second advantage and he stretched it out into a win, his first of the season and one that sees him back in the championship chase. A 5.69 was more than enough for the points leader Steve Ham, who recorded another 5.9 second pass after early-run tire shake.

In the first appearance of the newly created IHRA Australia Pro Mod category, two of the most consistently quick cars over the course of the event faced off in the final round. It was Sydney local Zoran Gajic in the Gas Racing Mustang taking the win over Greg “Mauler” Tsakiridis with a near perfect 5.85 on the 5.85 Index. With the win, Gajic became the first ever winner in the category.


In the 400 Thunder Sportsman Series categories, Ross Lamattina took his first Gold Christmas tree, Peter Hamilton won Super Street, Greg South was the victor in Super Gas, Michael Milasiewicz won Super Sedan, Tammy Goldthorpe made the trip south from QLD count with a Modified Bike win, local racer Daniel Flack took the win in Modified, Frank Oliveri won Top Sportsman, Wally Hosta the victor in Performance Bike, and Fred Nicastri took the honors in Super Comp.


The series now moves to Willowbank Raceway for the Santo’s Super Thunder on Good Friday, April 10.  

60th Winternationals begins celebration of 50 years of Pro Stock

The 60th annual Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals presented by ProtectTheHarvest.com marks the kickoff of the 50th anniversary celebration of Pro Stock, and class legends as well as special nostalgia Pro Stock cars will be on hand for the marquee event. Bo Butner will try to make it three straight event wins against the likes of defending world champ Erica Enders (shown), Greg Anderson, Jason Line, Alex Laughlin, Deric Kramer and Jeg Coughlin Jr.


To celebrate the 60th annual Winternationals event on Feb. 6-9 at Pomona, CA, NHRA Heritage Series Top Fuel dragsters and Funny Cars will be on site and making exhibition runs throughout the weekend. Additionally, the Little Red Fire Truck Wheelstander will be performing with special passes during the event.  



official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2020 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors