race reports

NMCA World Street Finals at Indianapolis

Close Racing End the Season

Words by Steve Baur

Photography by Fastest Street Car Magazine and RacePagesDigital.com

Stephan Stringer, Xtreme Pro Mod winner.


The 18th Annual NMCA World Street Finals presented by Chevrolet Performance, which was hosted at Lucas Oil Raceway Indianapolis September 19-22, marked the end of a successful season of NMCA Drag Racing presented by E3 Spark Plugs, and culminated in the crowning of class champions.


Twenty-two cars attempted to qualify for the 16-car Xtreme Pro Mod field, and the top spot changed every round.  John Stanley put his blown Cadillac CTSV above all others with a 3.725, and the entire field was separated by less than a tenth of a second, making it the quickest field since the inception of the Xtreme Pro Mod format. Stanley struck the tires in round one, allowing number 16 qualifier Stephan Stringer to advance. In the final round, Stringer drilled the tree and took the holeshot win with a 3.80 at 196 to Jim Widener’s nitrous-backfiring 3.78 run.

Bill Glidden returned to the racing scene at last weekend’s NMCA Muscle Car Nationals held at the Indianapolis Lucas Oil Raceway. Son of the legendary Bob Glidden, Bill took the wheel of his 1990 Mustang GT in the Nitrous Pro Street class. He met Tony Gillig in the final round and Glidden’s 4.31-second run got to the finish line before Gillig’s 4.36.


Street Outlaw: Shawn Pevlor advanced round by round to the finals where he fell to the hard-charging Rob Goss in a 4.38-to-4.55 match.


EFI Factory Super Cars: Bill Skillman edged out Randy Eakins, 7.95 to 7.96.


Xtreme Street: Jessie Coulter couldn’t make the final-round lane call due to breakage, which allowed Tim Knieriem to take the win light uncontested.


NA 10.5: Leonard Long waded through the crowded field to meet Dwight Ausmus in the final round of competition where Long drove to a winning 7.86 over Ausmus’ 8.03.


Stock: Haley Burkhammer led qualifying in Indy with a 10.19 in her Camaro. Burkhammer continued her quest for victory until she faced Scott Brown in the final round. There, Brown took the advantage at the tree, but Burkhammer powered around him with a winning 10.19 to Brown’s 10.25.


Stock/Super Stock Combo: Each driving a 1968 Camaro, Brian Livengood was .016 at the light and drove to the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle with a 10.468 on a 10.46 dial-in versus Jeremy Duncan’s 9.826 on a 9.81.


Nostalgia Super Stock: Ricky Newmeyer took the win over Kevin Miller in the final round of competition.


With over 60 Nostalgia Super Stock cars entered into competition, the 14h annual Dave Duell Classic and the 4th Annual Nostalgia Super Stock All-Star Shootout, there would be many rounds of the best nostalgia racing anywhere. In the final round of the Dave Duell Classic, Ramon Powell took a trip to the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle after defeating Jim Guy in a Dodge-vs-Plymouth matchup.


Class winners included Goodwin FX Shootout winner Brent Wheeler, Victory Performance Parts A-class winner Ramon Powell, B-class winner Jeff Blickensderfer, and C-class winner Bob Dillon. $6,200 was the total purse for the NSS racers on Saturday.


Along with the Dave Duell Classic, the NMCA’s Quick Fuel Technology NSS cars squared off against the Victory Performance Parts NSS cars in the All-Star-Shootout. This is the fourth year for the shootout and the NMCA contingent made it three wins to one. The final round featured two NMCA racers, with Jeff Ryan Goodin victorious over Corky Bumpus.


Nostalgia Muscle Car: Noah Winters defeated Jeff Toepper.


Open Comp: Norwalk winner, David Rickey, not only took home the win in the Proform Rumble category in Indy, but also drove to the win over Larry Geddes in the final round of Open Comp.


Street/strip cars were in the spotlight for NMCA Gear Vendors True Street, where Justin May was the overall winner—for the second NMCA event in a row—with an 8.23 average in his Third-Gen Firebird. Scott Klepinger was runner-up with an 8.34 average in his Third-Gen Camaro, and True Street veteran Rick Baum grabbed the 9-second award in his Mustang with an average of 9.81. Jack Caldwell picked up the 10-second win in a Mustang, Harv Owen drove to the 11-second win in his Corvette, and NMRA racer Marvin Knack picked up the 12-second win in his Stifflers Mustang. Rounding out the category were Greg Jessup, who was the 13-second winner, Rick Doern, who was the 14-second winner in a Mustang and Angelo Taylor, who was the 15-second winner in a PT Cruiser.

The Dodge // Mopar HEMI Shootout has been an ever-growing class at NMCA events this year. At this event, William Guger was the overall winner with a 10.01 average, while Derrick Roderweiss (shown) was the runner-up with a 10.16 average. Peter “Muscle Car Jr.” Mansolillo was the 10-second winner, Bruce Phillips was the 11-second winner, Ken Mason was the 12-second winner, Michael McCarter was the 13-second winner, Dana Baker was the 14-second winner and Jessica Rickey was the 15-second winner for the second NMCA event in a row. Then, after the eight quickest drivers in the category came together for the Arrington Performance HEMI Quick 8 presented by Red Line Oil, Derrick Roderweiss collected the win with a 10.20 over Peter Mansolillo’s 10.49 elapsed time.


Don Baskin Truck Sales Factory Appearing Stock Tire (FAST) racers were in action at this event, and Terry Pennington was the number one qualifier with a 9.943 and once again took home the win in his L-88-powered Corvette. Joining him in the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle was his wife, Julie, who was also at the top of the qualifying sheets with an 11.004 and collected the overall win in the Cor-A-Vent and Autorama Auto Sales Factory Stock class.


Two days of Fastest Street Car Bracket racing were rolled into the event, and on Saturday, Craig Richardson defeated AJ Gick in Bracket 1, while Randy Dobbs defeated Joey Moore in Bracket 2 and Jeff Toepper motored to the win over Jason Whisman in Bracket 3. On Sunday, Troy Lensing won over Blaine Bolding in Bracket 1, while Duane Keiser defeated Nick Allison in Bracket 2 and Don Fotti grabbed the win over Rick Doern in Bracket 3. 



official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2019 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors