Andras wins All-Harley title before rain ruins the day at The Rock

Persistent rain showers washed out the 28th annual Jim McClure Memorial All-Harley Nitro World Finals Sunday at Rockingham Dragway, but not before Randal Andras (shown) won the Top Fuel championship for himself and Jay Turner Racing.


The No. 3 qualifier behind teammate and two-time reigning NHRA Champion Tii Tharpe, Andras raced to quick time of the opening round at 6.549 seconds, 207.34 mph to turn back Bill “Billy Jack” Jackson of Honeybrook, PA. That clinched the title insomuch as Turner, who was second entering the event, suffered a rare DNQ.


Only one round of Top Fuel and partial rounds of Pro Fuel and Nitro Funny Bike were completed between the rain showers, ultimately compelling organizers to pull the plug on the race for the second time in six years.


It was a particularly disappointing outcome for Janette Thornley, who had hoped to overtake Dennis Waldron of Ownings, MD, for the AMRA Pro Fuel championship, especially when Waldron was upset in one of the two first rounds completed before the washout.


Waldron was upset by Jim Martin of Carleton, MI, in one of the two first round races completed in Pro Fuel. In the other, No. 1 qualifier Kirby Apathy of Deland, FL, topped Rocky Jackson of Arnaudville, LA, in the process earning AMRA world record certification of his qualifying time of 7.128 seconds.    

Beckman sets zMax track record; rain moves eliminations to Monday

Jack Beckman set a Funny Car track-record 334.07 mph pass in 3.873 seconds during qualifying on Friday at zMAX Dragway.


The Sunday elimination rounds of the NTK NHRA Carolina Nationals were rained out and moved to Monday, Oct. 14. We will have event coverage tomorrow.   

FanFest to be held in downtown Ennis before FallNationals

The City of Ennis and Texas Motorplex are partnering for the sixth family-friendly Pre-Stage FanFest on Thursday, Oct. 17, between 5-9 p.m. in Downtown Ennis. Main Street and Knox Street (200 NW Main Street) will be blocked off for fans to wander between NHRA pro and sportsman cars, food trucks, music and more.


This free event will be highlighted by an autograph session from 7-8 p.m. with 16-time Funny Car champion John Force and two-time Funny Car champion Robert Hight as well as Pro Stock Motorcycle world champions Matt Smith and Jerry Savoie. They will be joined by Pro Stock world champions Greg Anderson, Jason Line and Bo Butner as well as Arlington-based Top Fuel racer and U.S. Nationals runner-up Kebin Kinsley, Top Fuel championship contender Mike Salinas (shown), Pro Stock racer Shane Tucker, Rookie-of-the-Year front-runner Austin Prock, and a host of Pro Stock Motorcycle racers.   

New Product of the Day


Drag Race Wheels from Billet Specialties

The Billet Specialties Win Lite Drag Pack Wheels are designed to offer bolt-on performance for modern muscle cars. No spacers or special lugs are required, with direct fitments available for Gen 4, 5, and 6 Camaros, Cadillac CTSV, C6 Corvette, SN95, S197 and S550 Mustangs, and Dodge SRT cars. Sizes include 18x5 front wheels and 17x10 rear, available with or without single beadlocks. 



official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2019 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors