ET Dragracing

IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals at Memphis

2018 Season Champions Crowned


Words by Ryan Perezluha

Photos courtesy IHRA

Hundreds of IHRA Summit SuperSeries track champions, along with Summit Team Finals divisional champions from around the United States, Canada and Aruba, gathered at Memphis International Raceway Oct. 19-20 for the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals. The races were run to the eighth mile.


Representing nearly 100 IHRA-sanctioned tracks, drivers traveled from all over North America and Canada, coming from as far north as Palmer, Alaska making the nearly 4,000-mile trek and as far south as Oranjestad, Aruba.


The IHRA Summit SuperSeries champions were crowned Saturday, Oct. 20, in Top (Box), Mod (No Box) and Junior Dragster. The $200,000 program is the championship competition for IHRA member Sportsman racers and more than 8,000 racers compete in the program annually.


Dale Scates from Center, TX, representing Pine Valley Dragway won the Top World Championship. Toby Daniels from Barbourville, KY, representing London Dragway captured the Mod World Championship. Kyla Feit from Wisconsin Rapid, WI, representing Great Lakes Dragway won the Junior Dragster crown.

Dale Scates, Top (Box) champion


Scates, Center, TX, 5.072 secs. at 124.35 mph (.021 RT) def. Dale Foss, Wickliffe, OH, 4.520 secs. at 150.23 mph (.023 RT).

Toby Daniels, Mod (No Box) champion.


Daniels, Barbourville, KY, 6.843 secs. at 100.13 mph (.012 RT) def. Aaron Brock, Pageland, SC, 6.918 secs. at 86.01 mph (.045 RT).


Top (Box) and Mod (No Box) Champion Awards:

1. $20,000 from Summit Racing Equipment

2. Aruba Vacation for Two: Seven-night/eight-day trip for two people; includes airfare, car rental, island tour, hotel and dinner/lunch packages courtesy of Around Aruba Tours, El Gaucho Restaurant, Tropicana Resorts, More 4 Less car rentals and the crew of Don Flip Racing Team.

3. IHRA Gold Card

4. World Champion Ironman Trophy

5. World Champion Diamond Ring

Kyla Felt, Jr. Dragster champion.


Summit SuperSeries Junior Dragster: Kyla Feit, Wisconsin Rapids, WI, 7.897 secs. at 81.97 mph (.23 RT) def. Chance Turman, Thorndale, TX, 22.432 secs at 32.25 mph (-.096 RT)


Junior Dragster Champion Awards:

1. Custom-built Junior Dragster by American Race Cars featuring custom paint scheme from Imagine That Customs, and Computech Data Maxx Jr. Data Logger

2. $3,000 from Summit Racing Equipment

3. IHRA Gold Card

4. World Champion Ironman Trophy

5. World Champion Diamond Ring  



official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2018 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors