VOLUME XIX,  NUMBER 5 - May  2017

The DragRacingOnline.com AA Funny Car Challenge returns for its eighth season after a one-year hiatus.



May 19-20: San Antonio, TX


June 16-17: Holley Hot Rod Reunion, Bowling Green, KY (Tentative)


July 14-15: Cedar Falls, IA


Aug. 11-12: Martin, MI


Sept. 8-9: Martin, MI


Sept. 22-23: Tulsa, OK


Oct. 13-14: Series Finals with Goodguys, Bowling Green, KY



NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series rules apply except that the fuel pump does NOT have to be certified and flowed by K.J. Crawford. It MUST be an approved part number.


The Challenge is an open eight-car or six-car qualified field. The NHRA Sportsman ladder is used (1 vs. 5, 2 vs. 6, etc.) In a six-car field, the quickest first-round loser comes back.

In qualifying, racers with highest number of points get first choice of when they will run.


NHRA Heritage rear-tire rules apply.


NHRA safety rules apply. Front carbon fiber brakes not required unless car goes faster than 250 mph. If your car goes faster than 250 mph you will be allowed to finish the event with steel brakes, but carbon fiber brakes must be installed before competing in the next DRO event.




  • One points-type magneto with a single coil. NO dual coils are allowed.
  • 6:71 supercharger, maximum of 18.9 percent overdrive allowed.
  • Single 21-gpm fuel pump. Must have NHRA-approved parts number per Heritage rules.
  • Break rule: From the semifinals on you must start the car, stage and take the green light in order to earn that rounds money. Break in qualifying and the alternate goes in and you get first round loser points and money.
  • Winner and runner-up at each event must allow their fuel pumps to be disassembled and checked with a Go/No-Go gauge by Series Administrator, Jeff Burk, or Race Director, Jok Nicholson, in order to receive DRO series points and prize money for that round.
  • No entry fee. Driver plus five crew members are admitted free. Additional family or crew will be charged regular track admission price.




Win – 100

Runner-up – 90

Semi-finals – 80

First round – 70


Thirty (30) points will be awarded for setting a speed or ET record. ET must be backed up at event by second run within one percent to qualify as a new record. NHRA rules will apply for setting a record. Only one speed or ET record can be set per event.




1. 10 points

2. 9 pts

3. 8 pts

4. 7 pts

5. 6 pts

6. 5 pts

7. 4 pts

8. 3 pts


PAYOUT (per event)

Winner: $5,000

Runner-Up: $3,750

Semifinalists: $2,500

First-round losers: $1,750

Numbers 9, 10 qualifiers: $500




ET: 5.6876 by Richard Hartman, Martin, Michigan, Sept. 12, 2015


MPH: 259.82 by Richard Hartman, Martin, Michigan, Sept. 12, 2015




ET: 3.818 by John Hale, Kennedale, Texas, April 27, 2013


MPH: 196.07 by John Hales, Kennedale, Texas, April 27, 2013


DRO National Championship Points after the San Antonio Event


1.  Paul Romine, Indiana 108

2.  John Hale, Texas      100

3.  Ronny Young, Texas     89

4.  Fred Farndon, Oklahoma 87


official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2017 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors