Racers getting ready for DRO AA/FC Challenge season opener in San Antonio

Saturday saw the zMax Dragway stands full as (from bottom) Brittany Force, Steve Torrence, Doug Kalitta and Clay Millican made a qualifying pass. 


The 2017 DRO AA/FC Challenge season begins on the quarter-mile at San Antonio Raceway on May 19-20.


The entries for the eight-car qualified field include twice DRO Champion and Texas native Dallas-based John Hale in his Camaro and Ronnie Young in the legendary “Blue Max” AA/FC. Also on the entry list are two-time DRO AA/FC Champ Paul Romine from Indianapolis, Oklahoma's Fred Farndon in the “Play It Loud” Mopar.


Also filing an entry is legendary Ford racer Larry Gould from Illinois who is making his return to the FC wars in Ford 'Cammer-powered Ford EXP. At one time in the early 1970's Gould held the speed record for Ford Cammer-powered Nitro Funny Cars.


Romine and Hale are renewing a fierce rivalry. In the first four seasons of the DRO AA/FC Challenge those drivers split the National Championships, each winning two. It is personal for these two teams and drivers and Hale will be especially mindful as the race is in his home state. His barbeque sauce company is the presenting sponsor of the San Antonio event.


There will be two rounds of nitro flames and qualifying under the lights Friday and Eliminations under the lights Saturday.

Burkster among guests on Nitro Reports tonight

This week’s Nitro Reports features: NHRA Funny Car Points leader and 4-Wide winner Ron Capps; Newly licensed nitro funny car driver Bobby Cottrell; Drag racing legend Walt Austin; A preview of Firebird Raceway’s Ignitor and the latest on the DRO Funny Car Challenge from DRO editor, Jeff Burk.


Tune in at 6 p.m. (Pacific) at NitroReports.com with Donnie Couch and Darr Hawthorne and LIVE on the Nitro Reports Facebook page anytime!

VOLUME XIX,  NUMBER 4 - April  2017

Radial tire racers to run at New England Nationals

The Redemption drag radial cars were at the Houston NHRA event. Kenjo Kelley was the winner. 


NHRA officials announced that radial tire racers from the Northeast will take part in ‘The Pilgrimage’ on June 2 during the NHRA New England Nationals at New England Dragway.


The Pilgrimage will pit racers in the New England X275 vs. X275 in a grudge match during the course of the day. Those participating in the event will be Mark Dykeman, Scott MacDonald, Robert Baptista, Tommy DePriest, Manny Buginga, Ron Rhodes, Dean Marinis, Rob Goss, Alex Hays, and Kevin Fiscus.


Drivers will get one time trial in the morning and competitors will be pitted against their competitors during a special ‘call out’ event prior to first round. The first round of eliminations is slated for 1:30 p.m, while the semifinals will take place before the first round of professional qualifying for NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, and the final round for the small tire standouts will take place before the second round of professional qualifying on Friday night.

Cowie and Lindberg lead Charlotte winners

Shawn Cowie and Johan Lindberg raced to victory at last weekend’s NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at zMax Dragway. Lindberg scored his first NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series national event win in Top Alcohol Funny Car while Cowie picked up his sixth in Top Alcohol Dragster.


Lindbergh, of Sweden, advanced to his first national final round.  Scoring the advantage off the line, Lindberg, never trailed earning his first national event win. Lindberg scored a 5.551 second lap at 260.66 mph in the final against Steve Gasparelli, West Covina, Calif., who had a clean pass from the start but was unable to rundown Lindberg.

Cowie, Surrey, B.C., would face off with Justin Ashley in the funny car final.  Ashley, Plainview, N.Y., had the early lead but Coie reeled him in and ran his best pass of the event for the win and the trophy. Cowie moved straight down the track to a 5.328 second, 272.94 mph lap. 


Perennial winner Peter Biondo bagged another win in Super Stock moving him to 26 wins in this class, and 50 career wins overall. A highlight of the event was John Labbous, Jr., White House, Tenn., doubling up his Wally trophy collection with wins in Super Comp and Super Gas. Labbous earned his fourth win over all and doubled up for the first time in his career.


Kyle Kohr, Myerstown, Pa. was better than Jeff Hairrington, Kathleen, Ga., at both ends of the track in Stock Eliminator, running a 10.737 second, 117.25 mph pass in his first final round appearance.  Ivey Brannon, Boiling Springs, S.C., had a nice pass to clinch the Top Sportsman presented by Racing RV’s.


Bruno Massel rounded out the winners this weekend at zMAX Dragway as he defeated Patrick Ross, Avon Lake, Ohio in Comp Eliminator adding to his previous 9 wins in this class. Pete Gasko Jr., Monroe Township, N.J., took home the SAM Tech Factory Stock Showdown defeating David Barton of Robesonia, Pa.  Gasko had was out of the gate first and held off Barton for the holeshot win.

Houston sportsman results

At the NHRA Houston SpringNationals, as the No. 5 qualifier, Craig Bourgeois, Metairie, La., worked his way through the field and ran 6.870 seconds at 185.08 mph in his final Comp Eliminator round victory over number one qualifier, Kevin Self, Caddo, Okla., who clocked a runner up pass in at 7.707 seconds, 170.79 mph.


In Super Comp Britt Cummings, Hammond, La. faced off against Jake Levatino, La Place, La., and posted a winning run of 8.929 seconds, 176.28 mph in his 2011 Phantom. Levatino drove an 8.929 second, 171.58 mph lap for his runner up finish.


South Central Division racers head to Osage Casino Tulsa Raceway Park for the next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event, June 23-25.


SUPER STOCK: Joel Covington, Center, Texas, '98 Pontiac, GT/FA, 17.460, 79.02 def. Pete Peery, Bowie, Texas, '91 Calais, GT/HA, broke.


STOCK ELIMINATOR: Brett Candies, Thibodeaux, La., '10 Cobra, FS/B, 9.269, 142.00 def. Rusty Hall, Angleton, Texas, '67 Shelby, AA/SA, 10.085, 126.28.


SUPER GAS: Tommy Phillips, Forney, Texas, '63 Corvette, 9.887, 162.61 def. Koy Collier, Benton, La., '68 Camaro, 9.884, 160.00.


SUPER STREET: Ray Dew, League City, Texas, '70 Nova, 10.911, 142.70 def. Zachary Martinez, Pasadena, Texas, '84 Trans AM, 10.882, 137.90.


TOP SPORTSMAN: Bob Gulitti, Tomball, Texas, '11 Camaro, 6.610, 210.11 def. Keith Raftery, Lake Charles, La., '68 Camaro, broke.


TOP DRAGSTER: Jimmy Arabie, Baytown, Texas, '07 Bos Dragster, 6.491, 198.79 def. Wade Pennington, Ada, Okla., '13 Monden, 6.196, 229.04.


SPORTSMAN MOTORCYCLE: David Baugh, Giddings, Texas, '12 Kawasaki, 8.655, 155.63 def. Michael Nash, Texarkana, Texas, '12 Koenig, 7.755, 165.40.

MOSER SHOOTOUT: Slate Cummings, Hammond, La., '03 Cavalier, 5.946, 114.45 def. Christopher Dodd, Double Oak, Texas, '08 Undercover, 4.839, 140.25.


SUPER GAS SHOOTOUT: Jeff Hefler, Fort Worth, Texas, '48 Anglia, 9.900, 135.77 def. Koy Collier, Benton, La., '68 Camaro, 9.836, 148.61.


SUPER STREET SHOOTOUT: Ed Ridenhour, Kennedale, Texas, '68 Nova, 10.943, 141.50 def. Wayne Pratt, Blooming Grove, Texas, '67 Camaro, 10.893, 122.48.


MOTORCYCLE SHOOTOUT: David Baugh, Giddings, Texas, '12 Kawasaki, 8.927, 140.43 def. Ricky Kay, Humble, Texas, '92 Suzuki, 8.996, 143.11.


official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2017 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy


fficial ponsors