Boost is king in the VMP Superchargers Terminator / GT500 Shootout. In the sibling rivalry, Brian Devilbiss scored one for team GT500 during qualifying when he took the number-one spot with his ’13 GT500 on a 7.386 at 189.10 mph hit. The final round pitted a Terminator against a Shelby GT500, and it was Devilbiss who reached the big end first with a 7.461 at 188.96 mph hit to officially bookend his season with wins in the class.

The fastest late-model Fords on the planet came together for this installment of the Henchman Racing Turbo Coyote Shootout and Bret Stabler topped the qualifying field as the only driver to break into the 4-second zone when he ran 4.965 at 145.97 mph with his ’11 Mustang. Meanwhile, Justin Jordan (shown) of Riverview, Fl.a, had confidence in his ’14 Mustang and the car lived up to expectations, giving Jordan a final run of 4.994 at 145.88 mph to trigger the win lights in his lane as Stabler took the runner up spot.

In the Livernois Motorsports EcoBoost Battle, Bill Putnam set the quickest elapsed time during qualifying when he ran the quarter mile in 10.245 seconds at 134.10 mph with his ’15 Mustang. It was Brad Gusler of Big Island, Va., however, who made it count when he won the last elimination match of the night in his ’15 EcoBoost Mustang with an easy win over Alexis Fruggiero.

In the bracket categories, Derrick Cornish of Lawrenceburg, Ky., and his ’87 Mustang won Bracket 1, Gary Parker of Villa Rica, Ga., won Bracket 2, and Clifford Moore of Chicago Heights, Ill., won Bracket 3 with his ’95 Mustang.

While we wait for the championship results to be finalized, the following drivers have been given preliminary titles: Phil Hines (Street Outlaw), Aaron Bates (Renegade), Joe Guertin (Coyote Modified), Teddy Weaver (Pure Street), Drew Lyons (Coyote Stock), James Meredith (Factory Stock), Donnie Bowles (Modular Muscle), Dennis Corn (Open Comp), Randy Conway (Truck & Lightning), Marvin Knack (Super Stang), and Danny Towe (Ford Muscle).

The 2017 NMRA season begins March 2-5 at Florida’s Bradenton Motorsports Park.