PDRA at Memphis, Tenn.

Scruggs, Franklin, Rivenbark and Schweigert Win

Jason Scruggs (far lane) got the Pro Extreme win over Terry Leggett.

For the fourth time in 2015, Jason Scruggs visited victory lane at a Professional Drag Racers Association event, taking the Pro Extreme trophy home to Saltillo, Mississippi, from the 2nd annual PDRA Memphis Drags on Aug. 22. Also scoring wins at Memphis International Raceway were Tommy Franklin with his second Pro Nitrous title of the year, Kevin Rivenbark with his second this year in Pro Boost, and Pro Extreme Motorcycle racer Terry Schweigert for the first time with the PDRA.

In the PDRA sportsman ranks, former Pro Extreme champion Mick Snyder prevailed his first time out in Top Sportsman, Derrik Sholar won the Top Dragster final, Mitchell Seymore won for the first time in Pro Jr. Dragster and Devan Lowe also won his first Top Jr. Dragster trophy.

Rain on Saturday morning interrupted the all-eighth-mile event and washed away a scheduled fourth qualifying session for all classes. With fields set from Friday's three completed qualifying rounds, final eliminations began about 5 p.m. and concluded by 11:30 p.m., just as rain again began to fall.


Terry Leggett

After earning the number-one start for the PDRA Memphis Drags with a track record 3.54 at 214.25 mph in his '71 Mustang, Terry Leggett charged through Pro Extreme eliminations, going 3.58 to beat a redlighting Neal Wantye in round one, 3.57 to easily handle Brandon Pesz in round two, and 3.61 against Wesley Jones, who also turned on the early-start light in the semifinals.