Three-Time NHRA Nostalgia Champ Switches over to IHRA Prostalgia Funny Cars

For the past three years for Jason Rupert and his band of merry men, Brad Littlefield, Dave Schwartz, Matt Bynam, Billy Payne, Devery Howard and his father, Frank Rupert, success has been frequent but not without, let’s say, adventure.

Rupert has certainly shown a flare for the dramatic.  Every year it has come down to the final race of the year to decide the title.

And this year was no different as the outcome of the funny car points championship came down to the final round of the final race at the California Hot Rod Reunion.

John Hale defeated Rupert, who had a very small point lead going into the race, in the semifinals. Ironically, Rupert needed to root for Hale to take out the most consistent car in the class, Dan Horan, to win the title.

By half a car, length Hale took the win over Horan, which gave the title to Rupert by a mere six points.

Now in 2014, Rupert is looking to take on a new adventure. The three-time NHRA Heritage Series Funny Car Champion will take on the new and improved IHRA Prostalgia Nitro Funny Car Championship series.

The International Hot Rod Association has decided to take nostalgia racing to a completely new level.  The IHRA has greatly upgraded the sport of nostalgia drag racing by offering purse money that is more on the line of respectable.

Each event has a $50,000 purse with 10 large going to the winner. At the end of the season, there is a $100,000 points fund, with 50 grand going to the champion. That is a substantial amount of money for a nostalgia deal.

We talked to the three-time champion about his decision to change sanctioning bodies and go out on the IHRA tour. He was getting ready to get on a plane and head to the Performance Racing Industry Show in Indianapolis where he would spend some time at longtime supporter and partner Mert Littlefield Blowers’ booth.